Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Navigation

Webinar: Biodiversity Offsetting in New Zealand

by Portal Web Editor last modified Aug 01, 2013 11:32 PM
Please join us for the next BBOP Community of Practice webinar on biodiversity offset experiences in New Zealand. Astrid van Meeuwen-Dijkgraaf, Wildland Consultants Limited, will present the New Zealand context and lessons learned from assisting in the design of several biodiversity compensation projects in New Zealand. The webinar will take place on Tuesday 6 August 9:00am UTC (5:00am US Eastern, 10:00am UK, 9:00pm NZT).
When Aug 06, 2013
from 05:00 AM to 06:00 AM
Attendees Astrid van Meeuwen-Dijkgraaf
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Astrid will briefly outline the current New Zealand legislation and how this relates to Biodiversity Offsetting.  She will then present several projects, describe the mitigation and compensation packages arrived at, and how these projects compare against the BBOP Biodiversity Offset Standard (2012).  Several of the BBOP principles, which initially did not appear to be particularly relevant to the New Zealand situation, increased in importance.  There are aspects that would improve biodiversity offsetting methodology in New Zealand, that may also be relevant to other countries.

More information about this event…

Back to Top